Micro Tech Lab Professional solutions for digital micro and macro photography
Products Reviews & buying guide Contact Order Sitemap References

 

An overview of the LM microscope adapters
We offer LM digital adapter solutions for the following microscopes
Online configurator: LM microscope adapter for all digital cameras and microscopes
LM adapter solution for c-mount microscope ports with reduction optics (0.5x / 0.6x / 0.7x or f=55mm / f=75mm / f=100mm)
LM photo microscopes: the flexible photography solution for large sensor cameras!
Macro Close-Up Lens: LM Macro lens 40/80 with plan achromatic optics
Special mounting medium for microscopy, non toxic,water solved,light hardening,fast solidifying and drying,neutraldoes not make air bubbles,high optical solution,color protecting,solvent free,high refractive index
Micro Tech Lab advisory service: microscopy, digital cameras, high quality photo
Service: improving image quality by giving your microscope a professional check-up
Camera ranking for microscopy use
Camera recommendation for microscopy application
DSLR camera or special-purpose microscope cameras?
Image sensor: dynamic range and it's influence on image quality
Microsocope recommendation
The Zeiss Stemi 508 stereo microscope: microscope adapters for digital cameras (DLSR and system cameras)
The Olympus IX2 series: enhanced versatility for use in a wide range of application
Our LM digital adapters open the Zeiss SV8 stereo microscope to a new, digital world
Nikon’s SMZ 645 and 660 stereo microscopes in microphotography
With the help of LM Digital adapter the inverse Nikon Eclipse MA100 and MA200 microscope become fit for photomicrography
Capture exceptional images with the Leica DM4 B/DM6 B and our LM digital adapters
LM photo microscope with Nikon C-mount camera DS-Fi2 and control panel DS-L3 for measurement tasks, long-term studies and lengthy observations
Install modern camera systems (DSLR, system- or c-mount cameras) with our LM digital adapter on the Olympus SZX9 – a stereo microscope for industrial applications
Capture One Pro software: Tethering in microscopy with Live View for a large variety of cameras

Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Facebook Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Twitter         291

The surprise microscope – Micros Lotus MCX51

Chance put the Lotus MCX51, made by the Austrian manufacturer Micros, into our hands, and we couldn’t resist taking a close look at every individual part of it. In addition, we were of course also interested in finding out whether it is possible to produce worthwhile photographic documentations with a laboratory microscope of this price class.

 

                               

The Lotus MCX51 is a very favourably priced (the ECO version with trinocular head costs around € 1,100) infinity-type laboratory microscope with a phototube and LED illumination.  The design is very appealing, it is well built, and at first glance we were unable to find a single workmanship defect with our model. The microscope is made from a mixture of metal and plastic. For our taste, a little too much plastic has been used on the trinocular head, which does not give the impression that this is a high-quality instrument, as is the case with significantly more expensive branded products. The quality of the coating is different from that of branded products. However, these differences are in most cases only evident when the instrument is disassembled.

In the course of our series of tests, we removed the microscope stage in order to examine it in detail. It was obvious that corners had been cut in the mechanical assembly of the stage structure. The stage has no gear wheel; instead it only has a rubber toothed belt. The drive is thus somewhat spongy, but when working with the instrument we had no problems with it. Regrettably, the stage only has one specimen holder for one slide.

The rotating nosepiece has space for four lenses. For our tests we used the flat infinity lenses 4x/10x/40x without phase contrast.

 

Since we had already removed the microscope’s sample stage, we took the opportunity to take a closer look at the condenser. It illuminates the image field evenly with no hotspots or blotches. A phase contrast condenser is also offered as an option.

    

But now let's turn to what actually interests us: photographic documentation.  We attached a Canon EOS 650D  to the Lotus MCX51 using the TUSTB and our LM digital DSLRCT adapter. To get straight to the point: the optical properties of the instrument are very good. It can easily hold its own in comparison with branded microscopes costing up to € 3,000. For microscopes in this price segment this is not always the case. Quite often, the quality of the photograph taken differs significantly from the image that is seen through the eyepiece – the colours are dull, and towards the edges the photograph becomes blurred. Not so with the Lotus MCX51! It is exceptionally well suited for digital photomicrography. The instrument features a high degree of planarity, contrast and focus.

 The internal diameter of the eyepiece is an atypical 26.7 mm. By using an adapter sleeve, the tube can be reduced to 23.2 mm. Instead, however, we would prefer a large tube with an internal diameter of 30 mm for the use of wide field eyepieces with field numbers of 20 or 22.  This would make it very easy to use eyepieces from other manufacturers and would ensure a more convenient image field.

The use of modern LED illumination offers a stable voltage as a result of which there are no light fluctuations (visible as a striped pattern) when taking the photographs. In addition, LED fluorescence lighting is also available.

The Lotus MCX51 is very light, which means that it is susceptible to vibrations. For this reason, it should be set up on a stable base (fixed table, etc.), so that footfall sound, for example, cannot be transmitted. This can become problematic, especially at large magnifications (over 400x) and/or when using oil immersions.

In comparison to higher priced branded microscopes, there are also fewer accessories available for this instrument. For our tests we used the WF 10x18 eyepieces with a diameter of 23.2 mm. This produced a smaller image field than that of top microscopes with 30 mm eyepiece tubes.

Conclusion:

The Lotus MCX51, manufactured by Micros Austria, is an entry-level laboratory microscope that does not need to fear comparison with expensive branded microscopes in terms of optical performance. Admittedly, differences are evident in both workmanship and finish. However, is certainly a sensible alternative to older laboratory microscopes with a finite optical system. 21.06.2013

 

Photography

Fitting the microscope to digital single-lens reflex (DSLR), system or C-mount cameras is easy with our LM digital SLR adapters, which feature a plan achromatic optical system. Our products make it possible to capture top-quality microscope images. To help you select the adapter that is right for your camera, we have set up an online configurator on our website. You can also email us – ideally with attached photographs of your microscope.

Modern DSLR and system cameras offer the latest technology and are generally very well suited for microscopy applications. Most of them can be controlled remotely via PC/Mac. Because of their high sales volumes, they offer an excellent price/performance ratio compared to special-purpose microscope cameras.

Features of top DSLR and system cameras:
- Large, powerful full-frame sensors (36 x 24 mm)
- Sensor resolution of 50 megapixels
- High light sensitivity (ISO 100,000+)
- Extensive dynamic range (up to 14 aperture stops/f-stops)
- Short exposure times (1/8000 second):
- Full/Ultra HD (4k) video function
- Live video capture on external monitors in ultra HD quality

In most cases, these cameras are significantly more powerful than microscope cameras with smaller sensors (1/2" or 2/3"). On our website you will find our current camera recommendations and a camera ranking which is specifically tailored to microscopy applications.
 

New LM Digital Adapter for:

Nikon D850 / Sony Alpha 9 / Nikon D5 / Sony Alpha 7S II / Sony Alpha 7R II / Sony Alpha 7S / Canon EOS 5D Mark IV / Nikon D750 / Canon EOS 6D Mark II / Sony Alpha 6300 / Sony Alpha 6500 / Nikon D500 / Canon EOS 1D X / Nikon D810 / Nikon D4s / Nikon D800 / Nikon D800E / Nikon D4 / Nikon Df / Nikon D610 / Nikon D600 / Canon EOS 6D / Canon EOS 5DS R ( without low-pass filter) / Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II / Canon EOS 80D / Canon EOS 5DS / Sony Alpha 77 II / Canon EOS 70D / Nikon D7200 / Canon EOS 200D / Canon EOS 800D / Rebel T7i / Canon EOS 77D / Canon EOS 5D Mark III / Canon EOS 60D / Sony Alpha 7R / Sony Alpha 7 / Nikon DS-Qi2 (Microscope Camera) / Nikon D3x / Olympus OM-D E-M1 / Nikon D3S / Canon EOS 750D / Rebel T6i /

Related Links
LM photo microscope with Nikon C-mount camera DS-Fi2 and control panel DS-L3 for measurement tasks, long-term studies and lengthy observations
LM microscope adapters: We’re impressed by the performance of Canon’s professional-grade EOS 5D Mark IV camera at the microscope!
Canon EOS Utility 2 and Apple computer
Canon EOS 5D Mark II on the microscope
Controlling Olympus digital SLR cameras from your PC with the OLYMPUS Studio 2 software
The Sony Alpha 7R II – a top-notch camera with full-frame sensor for use in microscopy
Canon Rebel T4i (EOS 650D) in a practical test
Using HD / UHD / 4k / 6k components in microphotography
Camera recommendation for microscopy application
Canon Utility Software 3
DSLR camera or special-purpose microscope cameras?
Testing report: Nikon Camera Control Pro2
Camera ranking for microscopy use
The Sony Alpha 7R on the microscope with the tried and tested LM digital adapters
The Sony Handycam FDR AXP33 delivers incredible 4k ultra HD video quality
Controlling cameras remotely via PC or Mac
Canon EOS 5DS – the twin sister of the Canon EOS 5DS R
The high-performance full-frame Canon EOS 5DS R camera on the microscope
Canon EOS 1200D - simple camera with a very good price performance ratio for microphotography
The Nikon D810 full frame camera in microscopy
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH4 with 4k video recording

 

High-end intermediate optics for connecting microscopes to:
  • digital SLR cameras
  • digital mirrorless system cameras with an interchangeable lens mount
  • c-mount-, USB- and firewire cameras
  • digital compact cameras and camcorders
[Further information amd prices]
 
Which digital camera works best on a microscope?
LM Makroskop 16x Convert your digital SLR camera into a professional microscope
Special mounting media  for microscopy

Tips and tricks to connect your digital camera and to process digital images
wing_drosophila

 

 Demo Pictures

 
© 1999-2016 MICRO TECH LAB. All rights reserved / Legal notice / Privacy policy / Newsletter / Press
 
OK

Micro Tech Lab Professionelle Lösungen für die digitale Mikro- und Makrofotografie
Produkte Tests & Kaufberatung Kontakt Bestellung Seitenübersicht Referenzen

 

LM Adapter für die Mikroskopie im Überblick
Für folgende Mikroskope bieten wir LM Adapterlösungen an
Online Konfigurator: LM Mikroskop Adapter für alle Digitalkameras und Mikroskope
LM DSLR Makroskop 16x: Professionelle Fotodokumentation zum Schnäppchenpreis
LM Makroskop 32x: Verwandeln Sie Ihre digitale Spiegelreflexkamera in ein Mikroskop / Makroskop
LM Foto-Mikroskop: die flexible Fotolösung für Kameras mit großen Sensoren!
Makro-Vorsatzlinsen: LM Macro 40 und 80 mit planachromatischer Präzisions-Optik
Spezial Einschlussmittel für die Mikroskopie (deutsch/englisch)
Micro Tech Lab Beratungsdienstleistung: Mikroskopie,Digitalkameras,Verbesserung der Bildqualität
Dienstleistung: Verbesserung der Bildqualität durch Überprüfung des Mikroskops
Digital-Kamera Ranking für die Einsatz in der Mikroskopie
Leitfaden zur Kamerawahl für die Mikrofotografie
DSLR Kamera oder Mikroskop-Spezialkamera?
Bildsensor: Dynamikumfang - Einfluss auf die Bildqualität
Mikroskop Empfehlung
Installation von modernen Kamerasystemen (DSLR-, System- und C-Mountkameras) mit den LM digital Adaptern an das Stereomikroskop Olympus SZX9
Stereomikroskope der Leica S-Serie mithilfe von LM Digital Adaptern mit DSLR- und Systemkameras ausrüsten
Die Olympus IX3-Serie: Lebendige Mikrofotografie auf höchstem Niveau
Leica DM1000: Digital Adapter für digitalen Spiegelreflexkameras DSLR und spiegellosen Systemkameras
Leica DM500 und DM750 - Ausbildungsmikroskope für die Mikrofotografie
Nikon Eclipse E400 und E600 - Forschungsmikroskope der 1990er Jahre
Das Zeiss AxioZoom V16: modulares Zoom-Stereomikroskop der Top-Klasse
Das Zeiss Axio Observer: ein inverses Mikroskopsystem der Meisterklasse

Telefon +43-664-7926425 ( Mo - Fr 10:00 - 16:00 )            Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Facebook Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Twitter         291

Das Überraschungsmikroskop - Micros Lotus MCX51

Der Zufall hat uns das Lotus MCX51 des österreichischen Herstellers Micros in die Hände gespielt und wir konnten nicht widerstehen, uns alle Einzelteile ausgiebig anzuschauen. Außerdem interessierte uns natürlich die Frage, ob man mit einem Labormikroskop dieser Preisklasse auch vernünftige Fotodokumentationen machen kann.

 

                               

Das Lotus MCX51 ist ein äußerst günstiges Labormikroskop (die Eco Version mit Trinokularkopf kostet in etwa € 1.100,-) des unendlich Typs mit Fototubus und LED-Beleuchtung. Das Design ist sehr ansprechend, die Verarbeitung ist gut, wir konnten auf den ersten Blick keinen einzigen Verarbeitungsmangel bei unserem Modell finden. Es ist aus einem Metall-, Kunststoffgemix gefertigt. Beim Trinokopf wurde für unseren Geschmack etwas zu viel Kunststoff verwendet, dadurch erhält man nicht den Eindruck, dass es hochwertig ist, so wie bei wesentlich teureren Markengeräten. Die Qualität der Lackierung unterscheidet sich von denen von Markengeräten. Diese Unterschiede fallen jedoch meist erst beim Zerlegen des Instruments auf.

Wir haben im Zuge unserer Testreihen den Mikroskoptisch abgenommen, um ihn uns ganz genau anzuschauen. Bei der mechanischen Fertigung der Tischkonstruktion wurde eindeutig gespart. Der Tisch hat kein Zahnrad, sondern nur einen Zahnriemen aus Gummi. Der Antrieb ist somit etwas schwammig, aber beim Arbeiten mit dem Instrument hatten wir damit keine Probleme. Schade nur, dass der Tisch lediglich einen Präparatehalter für einen Objektträger hat.

Der Objektivrevolver bietet Platz für vier ObjektiveFür unsere Tests verwendeten wir die Plan unendlich Objektive: 4x / 10x / 40x ohne Phasenkontrast.

 

Da wir nun den Mikroskop-Probentisch schon abgenommen hatten, haben wir die Gelegenheit genutzt und den Kondensor aus der Nähe betrachtet. Dieser leuchtet das Bildfeld gleichmäßig aus, es gibt keine Hotspots oder Flecken. Optional wird auch ein Phasenkontrast-Kondensor angeboten.

    

So, nun aber zu dem für uns eigentlich interessanten Punkt, die Fotodokumentationen. Wir montierten eine Canon EOS 650D auf das Lotus MCX51 mit Hilfe des TUSTB und unserem LM digital DSLRCT Adapter. Gleich vorweg, die optischen Eigenschaften des Instruments sind sehr gut. Es kann ohne Probleme mit Markenmikroskopen im Preisniveau bis € 3.000 mithalten. Für Mikroskope in diesem Preissegment ist dies nicht selbstverständlich. Oft unterscheidet sich das gemachte Foto in der Qualität deutlich von dem Bild, das man durch das Okular erhält, die Farben sind flau und zu den Rändern des Fotos hin wird es unscharf. Nicht so beim Lotus MCX51! Es ist wirklich sehr gut geeignet für die digitale Fotomikroskopie. Das Instrument weist eine gute Planizität, Konstrast und Schärfe auf.     

 

Der Innendurchmesser des Okulars besitzt ein untypisches Maß von 26,7 mm. Mit Hilfe einer Anpassungshülse wird der Tubus auf 23,2 mm reduziert. Wir würden uns stattdessen einen großen Tubus mit 30mm Innendurchmesser für die Verwendung von Weitfeldokularen mit Sehfeldzahlen von 20 oder 22 wünschen. Damit könnte man auch sehr leicht Okulare anderer Hersteller verwenden und hätte ein angenehmeres Bildfeld.

Durch die Verwendung der modernen LED-Beleuchtung hat man eine stabilisierte Spannung, daher kommt es zu keinen Helligkeitsschwankungen (als Streifenmuster sichtbar) während der Fotoaufnahmen. Zusätzlich ist auch eine LED-Floureszenz-Beleuchtung erhältlich.

Das Lotus MCX51 ist sehr leicht, daher ist es anfällig für Schwingungen. Es sollte auf einer stabilen Unterlage (fixer Tisch etc.) aufgestellt werden, so dass z.B. Trittschall nicht weitergeleitet werden kann. Heikel kann es diesbezüglich besonders bei starken Vergrößerungen (über 400x) und/oder der Verwendung von Öl-Immersionen werden

Im Vergleich zu hochpreisigeren Markenmikroskopen gibt es für das Instrument auch weniger Zubehör. Wir haben für unsere Tests die Okulare WF10x18 mit 23,2mm verwendet. Dadurch ergibt sich ein kleineres Bildfeld als bei Topmikroskopen mit 30mm Okulartuben.

Fazit: Das Lotus MCX51 von Micros Austria ist ein Einsteiger-Labormikroskop, das den Vergleich zu teuren Markenmikroskopen in Bezug auf die optischen Leistungen nicht zu scheuen braucht. Die Unterschiede zeigen sich allerdings in der Verarbeitung und dem Finish. Aber es ist in jedem Fall eine sinnvolle Alternative zu älteren Labormikroskopen des Endlich-Typs. 08.05.2013


Fotografie:

Die Adaption an digitale Spiegelreflex-(DSLR), System- oder C-Mountkameras erfolgt sehr einfach mit den LM digital SLR Adaptern mit planachromatischer Optik. Mit unseren Produkten gelingen Mikroskopfotos von sehr hoher Qualität. Für die Wahl des passenden Adapters an Ihre Kamera steht Ihnen unser Online-Konfigurator zur Verfügung. Oder Sie kontaktieren uns per Mail, am besten mit Fotos Ihres Mikroskops.

Aktuelle DSLR- und Systemkameras verfügen über die moderneste Technologie und sind großteils für die Mikroskopie sehr gut geeignet. Die meisten lassen sich auch bequem vom PC /Mac aus steuern. Bedingt durch die hohen Verkaufszahlen haben diese im Vergleich zu Mikroskop-Spezialkameras ein exzellentes Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis.

Merkmale von Top DSLR- und Systemkameras:
- große, leistungsfähige Vollformatsensoren (36 x 24 mm)
- Sensorauflösung von 50 Megapixel
- Lichtempfindlichkeit von über ISO 100.000
- Hoher Dynamikumfang (etwa 14 Blendenstufen)
- kurze Belichtungszeiten von 1/8000 Sekunde
- Videoaufnahmen in Ultra HD (4k)
- Live Video Aufnahmen auf externen Monitoren in Ultra HD-Qualität

In den meisten Fällen sind diese Kameras deutlich leistungsfähiger als Mikroskopkameras mit kleinen Sensoren (1/2" oder 2/3"). Auf unserer Website finden Sie ebenfalls unsere aktuellen Kameraempfehlungen und ein Kameraranking, speziell ausgearbeitet für die Mikroskopie.

Neue LM Digital-Adapter für:

Nikon D5 / Canon EOS 5DS R ( without low-pass filter) / Canon EOS 5DS / Nikon D750 / Nikon D500 / Canon EOS 1D X / Nikon D810 / Nikon D4s / Nikon D800 / Nikon D800E / Nikon D4 / Nikon Df / Nikon D610 / Nikon D600 / Canon EOS 6D / Canon EOS 80D / Canon EOS 70D / Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II / Sony Alpha 7S II / Nikon D7200 / Canon EOS M5 / Canon EOS 5D Mark III / Sony Alpha 7R II / Canon EOS 60D / Sony Alpha 7R / Sony Alpha 7 / Sony Alpha 7S / Nikon DS-Qi2 (Microscope Camera) / Nikon D3x / Olympus OM-D E-M1 / Nikon D3S / Canon EOS 750D / Rebel T6i / Canon EOS 760D / Rebel T6s / Canon EOS 5D Mark II / Nikon D7100 / Pentax K-5 / Canon EOS 1D Mark IV / Sony SLT-A99 II / Nikon D7000 / Canon EOS 7D Mark II / Canon EOS 600D / Rebel T3i /

Verwandte Themen
Einsatz am Mikroskop: Canon EOS Utility 2 in Anwendung auf Apple-Computer (Mac)
Canon EOS 5D Mark II am Mikroskop
Fernsteuerung Olympus DSLR Kameras vom Computer aus
Sony Alpha 7R II - Eine spitzenklasse Vollformat Kamera am Mikroskop
Canon EOS 650D im Praxistest
Verwendung von HD / UHD / 4k / 6k Komponenten in der Mikrofotografie
Leitfaden zur Kamerawahl für die Mikrofotografie
Canon Utility Software 3
DSLR Kamera oder Mikroskop-Spezialkamera?
Testbericht: Tethering Nikon Camera Control Pro 2
Digital-Kamera Ranking für die Einsatz in der Mikroskopie
Die spiegellose Sony Alpha 7R am Mikroskop
Verwendung von HDTV Komponenten in der Mikroskopie
Sony FDR AXP33 - Kompakt Camcorder mit 4k Videoaufnahme am Mikroskop
Navigation (Fernaufnahme, tethering) von Kameras per PC oder Mac
Canon EOS 5DS - Zwillingsschwester der Canon EOS 5DS R
Canon EOS 5DS R - eine Hochleistungskamera am Mikroskop
Canon EOS 1200D - einfache Kamera mit gutem Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis für die Mikroskopieanwendung
Die Vollformatkamera Nikon D810 im Test auf dem Mikroskop
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH4 mit 4K-Videofunktion: Exklusivtest am Mikroskop!
Die Vollformatkamera Nikon D610 und Mikroskopie

High-End-Zwischenoptik zur Verbindung von Mikroskopen mit:
  • digitalen Spiegelreflexkameras
  • digitalen spiegellosen Systemkameras mit Wechselobjektivfassung
  • C-Mount- USB- und Firewire Kameras
  • digitalen Kompaktkameras und Camcordern
        [weitere Informationen und Preise]
Welche digitale Kamera funktioniert am besten am Mikroskop?
LM Makroskop 16x

Verwandeln Sie Ihre digitale Spiegelreflexkamera in ein Mikroskop

 

[weitere Informationen und Preise]

Spezial Einschlussmittel für die Mikroskopie

[weitere Informationen und Preise]
Tipps und Tricks in der Mikro- und Makrofotografie
wing_drosophila  Demo-Fotos

Preise exkl. MwSt. und Versandkosten. Irrtümer, Änderungen und Druckfehler vorbehalten

Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Sony,Fujifilm, Konica, Minolta, Pentax, Wild, Leica, Leitz, Intel... sind eingetragene Warennamen und Eigentum der jeweiligen Inhaber

© 1999-2016 MICRO TECH LAB   / Impressum  / Datenschutz / Newsletter / Presse

OK