Micro Tech Lab Professional solutions for digital micro and macro photography
Products Reviews & buying guide Contact Order Sitemap References

 

An overview of the LM microscope adapters
We offer LM digital adapter solutions for the following microscopes
Online configurator: LM microscope adapter for all digital cameras and microscopes
LM adapter solution for c-mount microscope ports with reduction optics (0.5x / 0.6x / 0.7x or f=55mm / f=75mm / f=100mm)
LM Macroscope 24x (15x and 11x) for Focus Stacking: Highest resolution without compromise
LM Macroscope 9x (5x and 3x) for Focus Stacking: Highest resolution without compromise
LM photo microscopes: the flexible photography solution for large sensor cameras!
Macro Close-Up Lens: LM Macro lens 40/80 with plan achromatic optics
Special mounting medium for microscopy, non toxic,water solved,light hardening,fast solidifying and drying,neutraldoes not make air bubbles,high optical solution,color protecting,solvent free,high refractive index
Micro Tech Lab advisory service: microscopy, digital cameras, high quality photo
Service: improving image quality by giving your microscope a professional check-up
Camera ranking for microscopy use
Camera recommendation for microscopy application
DSLR camera or special-purpose microscope cameras?
Image sensor: dynamic range and it's influence on image quality
Microsocope recommendation
The Zeiss Stemi 508 stereo microscope: microscope adapters for digital cameras (DLSR and system cameras)
The Olympus IX2 series: enhanced versatility for use in a wide range of application
Our LM digital adapters open the Zeiss SV8 stereo microscope to a new, digital world
Nikon’s SMZ 645 and 660 stereo microscopes in microphotography
With the help of LM Digital adapter the inverse Nikon Eclipse MA100 and MA200 microscope become fit for photomicrography
Capture exceptional images with the Leica DM4 B/DM6 B and our LM digital adapters
LM photo microscope with Nikon C-mount camera DS-Fi2 and control panel DS-L3 for measurement tasks, long-term studies and lengthy observations
Install modern camera systems (DSLR, system- or c-mount cameras) with our LM digital adapter on the Olympus SZX9 – a stereo microscope for industrial applications
Capture One Pro software: Tethering in microscopy with Live View for a large variety of cameras
Preview: The Nikon D850 – the new number 1 in our camera ranking!
Sony Alpha 9 – a camera that has everything you need!
Sony Alpha 7S II – a video specialist with ultra-high light sensitivity
Panasonic Lumix DC-GH5 – an interesting solution for long-term video recording at the microscope
Professional camera with full-frame sensor Leica M10 on the microscope
The new Canon DSLR EOS 1300D – a “microscope camera” with an unbeatable price/performance ratio

Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Facebook Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Twitter       232

The Olympus E5 on the microscope


After more than three years, Olympus has released its professional digital SLR model: the Olympus E5. With the E5, Olympus pursues a different strategy than its competitors, with the emphasis being not on “higher and further”, as evidenced, for example, by a higher number of pixels, but instead on quality and ease of use.

 

In the picture on the left, we have attached the Olympus E5 to a microscope using an LM adapter. This unit opens up the possibility of producing excellent photographic documentation on the microscope. In the picture on the right, we have attached the Olympus E5 to a 16x LM macro lens. In this case, too, it is possible to work professionally and trouble-free. 

The camera housing has a solid and well-engineered structure (860 g). Each opening in the housing has seals so that even working outdoors in rainy and dusty conditions does not pose a problem. The buttons need a little time and effort to get used to, as they have to be pressed relatively hard. The biggest innovation in the housing as compared to the previous model (Olympus E3) is the display. It has grown considerably larger, with a much better resolution, and is now of the same size as the displays on other camera manufacturers’ models. The big plus of the Olympus E5 display is, however, its mobility. It can be turned in almost every direction and is also very sturdy!


The operating controls are similar to the previous model, with just a couple of switches having been moved due to the larger display. As some menu items and terms used are difficult to understand, it would be useful to have a help function.


A further advantage of the E5 is its exposure metering system. It offers not only a choice between program, aperture priority, shutter priority and manual exposure mode, but also three selectable metering modes (automatic ESP metering with/without using the AF field, centre-weighted metering and spot metering with highlight or shadow control). The AF field is of little importance for microscopy, as the auto focus is not used in microscopy applications. White or black are used as the meter reference rather than grey. This enables the correct exposure of light or dark points in the image. Nevertheless, irrespective of the setting used by the photographer, the exposure metering works so reliably that one almost always obtains a correctly exposed image.

The Live View function is an excellent complement to the optical viewfinder. The built-in magnification function also offers the option of setting the focal plane with a high degree of precision, which is particularly helpful for the requirements of microscopy. The only disappointment is that the Live View mode does not work on the HDMI port.

The camera also has an exposure preview function, which can be used to control the white balance. There is also a comparison view of the selected motif, and exposure corrections and different colour temperatures can be simulated. However, this function is not 100% reliable.

The menu contains further settings options. Overall, there is a choice of six pre-settings, which, in addition, can be further configured to suit the camera user’s requirements (contrast, saturation, focus, etc.).

The post-editing options are extremely practical; these are available both for RAW data and for JPEGs. An example is the shadow adjustment function,  which can be used to retrospectively increase the exposure levels in shadowed portions of images to make dark areas more visible. Another advantage is that the edited images can be saved as well, so that they can be compared to the original images at a later point.


The Olympus E5 also has a video mode; however, it is only possible to produce 720p HD videos. 

One surprising aspect of the E5 is that in comparison to its competitors’ current models, the number of pixels, at 12 megapixels, is relatively low. However, for use in microscopy, this is not a disadvantage, because with an increasing number of pixels on a sensor, the sensitivity of the camera declines and the signal noise increases. In practical terms, this means that the colour reproduction is not optimal, and the image itself appears washed out. In microscopy, any limitation is solely the result of the numerical aperture of the lens.


Another positive aspect of the Olympus E5 is that it delivers excellent resolution. The resolution in the centre of the image is almost 100% at an efficiency factor of 90%!! In this context, it should also be mentioned that Olympus uses only moderate noise suppression, which also contributes to the images demonstrating excellent sharpness. A moderate luminance noise is only observed above an ISO number of around 800.

Regrettably, the remote control software is no longer included in the delivery scope.

A good alternative to the Olympus E5 is its “little sister”, the Olympus E-620. It is considerably cheaper, but its body is significantly less robust and it produces somewhat more pale looking images.


With both cameras, we recommend the purchase of the IR remote control if you are planning to work on the microscope or macro stand. An alternative solution is to use the self-timer with delayed exposure.

   

                         self-timer                   oder                             IR remote control


Conclusion
                
The Olympus E5 scores points through its robust build and the display, which can be turned in every direction and which is also very sturdy. Although the number of pixels is relatively low, this is not critical in microscopy. The images produced deliver excellent resolution, colour and contrast. For microscopy, in particular, it would be desirable for the Live View mode to work on the HDMI port as well. The remote control software is especially useful for working on the microscope, and therefore it is very regrettable that this software is no longer included in the camera’s scope of delivery and apparently can also no longer be ordered directly from Olympus. We would definitely recommend the purchase of the IR remote control!

Technical data:

     21.03.2011                         



New LM Digital Adapter for:

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II / Olympus OM-D E-M1 / Olympus E-5 / Olympus E-3 / Olympus E-30 / Olympus E-620 / Olympus Pen E-PL7 / Olympus OM-D E-M5 / Olympus Pen E-PL5 / Olympus OM-D E-M10 / Olympus Pen E-PM2 / Olympus E-330 / Olympus E-520 / Olympus E-420 / Olympus E-450 / Olympus E-510 / Olympus E-410 / Olympus Pen E-PL8 / Olympus Pen E-PL6 / Olympus Pen E-PL3 / Olympus Pen E-PM1 /

Related Links

 

High-end intermediate optics for connecting microscopes to:
  • digital SLR cameras
  • digital mirrorless system cameras with an interchangeable lens mount
  • c-mount-, USB- and firewire cameras
  • digital compact cameras and camcorders
[Further information amd prices]
 
Which digital camera works best on a microscope?
LM Makroskop 16x Convert your digital SLR camera into a professional microscope
Special mounting media  for microscopy

Tips and tricks to connect your digital camera and to process digital images
wing_drosophila

 

 Demo Pictures

 
© 1999-2016 MICRO TECH LAB. All rights reserved / Legal notice / Privacy policy / Newsletter / Press
 
Digitalcameras , Digitalcamera , Digital camera , Digital cameras , digital SLRs , digital SLR , digicam , digicams , DSLR , D-SLR , D'SLR , HD Camcorder , Videocamera , CCD Cameras , Adapter , Tube , Optical Adaption , Connection Link , Coupler , Tube Connection , C-Mount , c-mount interface , dslr on microscope , Adapter with plan achromatic hard-coated optic for 23.2mm / 30mm eyepiecetube and 37mm / 38mm / 42mm phototube / C-Mount , T-mount adapter (M42x0,75) / T2 Camera Lens Mount Adapter , lmscope microscope coupler , large format coupler , non standard microscope connections , male C-Mount , female C-Mount , intermediate tube , clamp , photoeyepiece , high resolution camera , slit lamp , mounting bayonet , C-mount relay lens , 35mm film frame , , OK

Micro Tech Lab Professionelle Lösungen für die digitale Mikro- und Makrofotografie
Produkte Tests & Kaufberatung Kontakt Bestellung Seitenübersicht Referenzen

 

LM Adapter für die Mikroskopie im Überblick
Für folgende Mikroskope bieten wir LM Adapterlösungen an
Online Konfigurator: LM Mikroskop Adapter für alle Digitalkameras und Mikroskope
LM Adapter-Lösung für Mikroskop C-Mount Port mit Verkleinerungsoptik ( 0,5x / 0,6x / 0,7x  oder f 55 mm / f 75 mm / f 100 mm)
LM Makroskop 24x (15x und 11x) für Focus Stacking: Maximale Auflösung ohne Kompromisse
LM Makroskop 9x (5x und 3x) für Focus Stacking: Maximale Auflösung ohne Kompromisse
LM Foto-Mikroskop: die flexible Fotolösung für Kameras mit großen Sensoren!
Makro-Vorsatzlinsen: LM Macro 40 und 80 mit planachromatischer Präzisions-Optik
Spezial Einschlussmittel für die Mikroskopie (deutsch/englisch)
Micro Tech Lab Beratungsdienstleistung: Mikroskopie,Digitalkameras,Verbesserung der Bildqualität
Dienstleistung: Verbesserung der Bildqualität durch Überprüfung des Mikroskops
Digital-Kamera Ranking für die Einsatz in der Mikroskopie
Leitfaden zur Kamerawahl für die Mikrofotografie
DSLR Kamera oder Mikroskop-Spezialkamera?
Bildsensor: Dynamikumfang - Einfluss auf die Bildqualität
Mikroskop Empfehlung
Zeiss Stemi 508 Stereomikroskop: Mikroskop Adapter für Digitalkameras (DSLR- und Systemkameras, Camcorder)
Olympus IX2 – Serie: DSLR- und Systemkameras bieten Ihnen Aufnahmen mit maximaler Bildqualität
Adapterlösung für das Stereomikroskop Stemi SV8 von Zeiss
Die Nikon SMZ 645-660 Stereomikroskope in der Mikrofotografie
LM Digital Adapter machen die inversen Nikon Eclipse MA 100 und MA 200 Mikroskope fit für die Mikrofotografie
Hervorragende Bilder mit den Geräten Leica DM 4B/ DM 6B und LM Digital Adapter
LM Fotomikroskop mit der Nikon C-Mountkamera DS-Fi2 und der Kontrolleinheit DS-L3 für Standardmessaufgaben, Langzeitbeobachtungen etc.
Installation von modernen Kamerasystemen (DSLR-, System- und C-Mountkameras) mit den LM digital Adaptern an das Stereomikroskop Olympus SZX9
Capture One Pro Software: Tethering in der Mikroskopie mit Live View Ansicht für eine große Anzahl von Kameras
Preview: Nikon D850 – neue Nummer 1 in unserem Kameraranking!
Sony Alpha 9 – eine Kamera, die alles bietet, was man braucht!
Sony Alpha 7S II – Videospezialist mit extrem hoher Lichtempfindlichkeit
Panasonic Lumix DC-GH5 als interessante Lösung bei Video-Langzeitaufnahmen am Mikroskop
Profi-Vollformatkamera Leica M10 am Mikroskop - neue Profikamera unter die Lupe genommen
Canon DSLR EOS 1300D – Mikroskopkamera mit unschlagbarem Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Telefon +43-664-7926425 ( Mo - Fr 10:00 - 16:00 )            Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Facebook Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Twitter       232

Olympus E5 am Mikroskop


Nach mehr als drei Jahren präsentiert Olympus nun das digitale Spiegelreflex-Profimodell  Olympus E5. Olympus setzt mit diesem Modell auf eine andere Strategie wie die Mitbewerber. Schwerpunkt ist nicht etwa „höher und weiter“, erkennbar an einer z.B. hohen Pixelanzahl, sondern vielmehr Qualität und Komfort.

 

Im linken Bild haben wir die Olympus E5 mit einem LM Adapter auf ein Mikroskop montiert. Mit dieser Einheit kann man am Mikroskop hervorragende Fotodokumentationen herstellen. Im  rechten Bild haben wir die Olympus E5 an ein LM Makroobjektiv 16x angeschlossen. Auch hier kann man problemlos professionell arbeiten.

Das Kameragehäuses ist von solider, durchdachter Bauweise (860 g). Jede Gehäuseöffnung hat Dichtungen, sodass selbst im Outdoorbereich bei Regen und staubiger Umgebung problemlos gearbeitet werden kann. Etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig sind die Tasten, denn diese müssen verhältnismäßig tief gedrückt werden. Die größte Neuerung beim Gehäuse im Vergleich zum Vorgängermodell (Olympus E3) ist jedoch das Display. Es ist um einiges größer geworden und hat nun eine viel bessere Bildauflösung. Somit ist es nun gleich groß wie bei den Modellen der anderen Kamerahersteller. Der große Pluspunkt beim Olympus E5 – Display ist aber die Beweglichkeit. In nahezu alle Richtungen lässt es sich schwenken und ist zudem sehr stabil!


Die Bedienung ist ähnlich wie beim Vorgängermodell, lediglich ein paar Schalter wurden aufgrund des vergrößerten Displays anders platziert. Einige Menüpunkte und verwendete Begriffe sind schwer verständlich, daher wäre eine Hilfefunktion wünschenswert.

Ein weiterer Pluspunkt stellt die Belichtungsmessung dar. Sie bietet nicht nur die Wahl zwischen Programm-, Zeit-, Blendenautomatik sowie manueller Einstellung, sondern auch der Messart (automatische Messfeldauswertung ESP mit/ohne Berücksichtigung des AF-Feld, mitten betonte Messung, Spotmessung mit Licht- oder Schattenbetonung). Wobei das AF-Feld für die Mikroskopie von geringer Bedeutung ist, da man hier nicht mit dem Autofokus arbeitet. Als Messreferenz wird dabei nicht Grau verwendet, sondern Weiß oder Schwarz. Das ermöglicht das korrekte Belichten von hellen bzw. dunklen Bildstellen. Aber unabhängig von der Einstellung des Fotografen, arbeitet die Belichtungsmessung so zuverlässig, dass man beinahe immer ein richtig belichtetes Foto erhält.

Die Live View Funktion wird im Olympushandbuch „Motivansicht“ genannt. Sie ist eine tolle Ergänzung zum optischen Sucher. Auch die eingebaute Lupenfunktion bietet speziell für die Anforderungen in der Mikroskopie, eine hilfreiche Möglichkeit, die Schärfenebene exakt einzustellen. Einziger Wermutstropfen ist, dass der Live View Modus am HDMI-Port nicht funktioniert.

Mithilfe der Belichtungsvorschau ist auch der Weißabgleich kontrollierbar. Es gibt eine Vergleichsansicht des gewählten Motivs, Belichtungskorrekturen und unterschiedliche Farbtemperaturen können simuliert werden. Allerdings ist diese Funktion nicht 100%-ig verlässlich.

Das Menü beinhaltet noch weitere Einstellmöglichkeiten. Insgesamt kann man aus sechs Voreinstellungen wählen, die außerdem noch zusätzlich konfiguriert werden können (Kontrast, Sättigung, Schärfe etc.)

Ausgesprochen praktisch sind die Nachbearbeitungsmöglichkeiten, diese sind sowohl bei RAW-Daten als auch bei JPEGs möglich. Beispielsweise die Gegenlichtkorrektur mit der man dunkle Bildstellen nachträglich aufhellen kann. Von Vorteil ist, dass die bearbeiteten Bilder zusätzlich abgespeichert werden, sodass man später noch vergleichen kann.

Die Olympus E-5 besitzt auch einen Videomodus, allerdings kann man nur mit 720p HD-Videos drehen.

Überraschend bei der Olympus E-5 ist die im Vergleich zu den aktuellen Modellen der Mitbewerber relativ geringe Pixelanzahl von 12 Megapixel. Für die Anwendung in der Mikroskopie ist das allerdings kein Nachteil. Denn je höher die Pixelanzahl auf einem Sensor, desto mehr nimmt die Sensibilität der Kamera ab und das Signalrauschen nimmt zu. Praktisch bedeutet das, dass die Farbwiedergabe nicht optimal ist, das Bild wirkt ausgewaschen. In der Mikroskopie ergibt sich die Limitierung ausschließlich durch die numerische Apertur des Objektivs.

Außerdem liefert die Kamera eine hervorragende Auflösung. Die Auflösung in der Bildmitte beträgt nahezu 100% bei einem Wirkungsgrad von 90%!! Erwähnenswert in diesem Zusammenhang ist auch, dass Olympus eine lediglich moderate Rauschunterdrückung benützt, das trägt auch dazu bei, dass die Bilder eine hervorragende Schärfe aufweisen.  Erst ab einer ISO-Zahl von ca. 800 ist ein störendes, moderates Helligkeitsrauschen zu beobachten.

Schade, dass die Remote Control Software im Lieferumfang nicht mehr enthalten ist.

Eine gute Alternative zur Olympus E5 ist die „kleine Schwester“, die Olympus E-620. Sie ist deutlich günstiger, ihr Gehäuse ist deutlich weniger robust und sie liefert etwas blassere Bilder.

Zu beiden Kameras empfehlen wir den Erwerb der IR Fernbedienung, wenn man plant, am Mikroskop oder Makrostativ zu arbeiten. Eine Ersatzlösung ist das Verwenden des Selbstauslösers mit Zeitverzögerung.

   

                Selbstauslöser                   oder                             IR Fernbedienung

Fazit:                      
Die Olympus E5 punktet vor allem durch ihre robuste Bauweise und das in alle Richtungen schwenkbare Display, das ebenfalls sehr stabil ist. Zwar weist sie eine relativ geringe Pixelanzahl auf, aber dies ist in der Mikroskopie nicht entscheidend. Die gelieferten Bilder weisen jedoch eine hervorragende Auflösung, Farben und Kontraste auf. Speziell für die Mikroskopie wäre es wünschenswert, wenn der Live View Modus auch am HDMI Port funktionieren würde. Die Remote Control Software ist speziell für das Arbeiten am Mikroskop hilfreich, daher ist es sehr schade, dass diese nicht mehr im Lieferumfang der Kamera enthalten ist und anscheinend auch nicht mehr über Olympus bezogen werden kann. Auf jeden Fall empfehlen wir noch den Kauf der IR Fernbedienung!

Technische Daten:

 

    Stand: 07.03.2011                         




Neue LM Digital-Adapter für:

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II / Olympus OM-D E-M1 / Olympus E-5 / Olympus E-3 / Olympus E-30 / Olympus E-620 / Olympus Pen E-PL7 / Olympus OM-D E-M5 / Olympus Pen E-PL5 / Olympus OM-D E-M10 / Olympus Pen E-PM2 / Olympus E-330 / Olympus E-520 / Olympus E-420 / Olympus E-450 / Olympus E-510 / Olympus E-410 / Olympus Pen E-PL8 / Olympus Pen E-PL6 / Olympus Pen E-PL3 / Olympus Pen E-PM1 /

Verwandte Themen

High-End-Zwischenoptik zur Verbindung von Mikroskopen mit:
  • digitalen Spiegelreflexkameras
  • digitalen spiegellosen Systemkameras mit Wechselobjektivfassung
  • C-Mount- USB- und Firewire Kameras
  • digitalen Kompaktkameras und Camcordern
        [weitere Informationen und Preise]
Welche digitale Kamera funktioniert am besten am Mikroskop?
LM Makroskop 16x

Verwandeln Sie Ihre digitale Spiegelreflexkamera in ein Mikroskop

 

[weitere Informationen und Preise]

Spezial Einschlussmittel für die Mikroskopie

[weitere Informationen und Preise]
Tipps und Tricks in der Mikro- und Makrofotografie
wing_drosophila  Demo-Fotos

Preise exkl. MwSt. und Versandkosten. Irrtümer, Änderungen und Druckfehler vorbehalten

Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Sony,Fujifilm, Konica, Minolta, Pentax, Wild, Leica, Leitz, Intel... sind eingetragene Warennamen und Eigentum der jeweiligen Inhaber

© 1999-2016 MICRO TECH LAB   / Impressum  / Datenschutz / Newsletter / Presse

Digitalkameras , Digitalkamera , digitale Kamera , digitale Kameras , Spiegelreflexkameras , Spiegelreflexkamera , digitaler Fotoapparat , digitaler Fotoapparate , DSLR , D-SLR , D'SLR , HD Camcorder , Videokamera , CCD Kameras , Adapter , Hülse , optische Anpassung , Verbindungsstück , Verbingungsteil , Verbindungstubus , C-Mount , C-Mount Schnittstelle , DSLR am Mikroskop , Adapter mit planachromatischer Präzisions-Optik für 23,2 mm / 30 mm Okulartubus und 37mm / 38mm / 42mm Fototubus / C-Mount , T2 Adapter (M42x0,75) / Kamera Bajonett , LMscope Mikroskopadapter , Großformat-Adapter für großformatige Kamerasensoren , Herstellerspezifische Mikroskopanschlüsse , C Mount Außengewinde , C Mount Innengewinde , Zwischentubus , Befestigung , Fotookular , hochauflösende Kameras , Spaltlampenmikroskop (Spaltlampe) , Bajonettverschluss , C-Mount Video Adapter , 35-mm (Normalfilm, Kleinbildfilm, KB-Film) , Objektiv in Retrostellung, Retroring, Umkehrring, Retroadapter , OK