Micro Tech Lab Professional solutions for digital micro and macro photography
Products Reviews & buying guide Contact Order Sitemap References

 

An overview of the LM microscope adapters
We offer LM digital adapter solutions for the following microscopes
Online configurator: LM microscope adapter for all digital cameras and microscopes
LM adapter solution for c-mount microscope ports with reduction optics (0.5x / 0.6x / 0.7x or f=55mm / f=75mm / f=100mm)
LM Macroscope 24x (15x and 11x) for Focus Stacking: Highest resolution without compromise
LM Macroscope 9x (5x and 3x) for Focus Stacking: Highest resolution without compromise
LM photo microscopes: the flexible photography solution for large sensor cameras!
Macro Close-Up Lens: LM Macro lens 40/80 with plan achromatic optics
Special mounting medium for microscopy, non toxic,water solved,light hardening,fast solidifying and drying,neutraldoes not make air bubbles,high optical solution,color protecting,solvent free,high refractive index
Micro Tech Lab advisory service: microscopy, digital cameras, high quality photo
Service: improving image quality by giving your microscope a professional check-up
Camera ranking for microscopy use
Camera recommendation for microscopy application
DSLR camera or special-purpose microscope cameras?
Image sensor: dynamic range and it's influence on image quality
Microsocope recommendation
The Zeiss Stemi 508 stereo microscope: microscope adapters for digital cameras (DLSR and system cameras)
The Olympus IX2 series: enhanced versatility for use in a wide range of application
Our LM digital adapters open the Zeiss SV8 stereo microscope to a new, digital world
Nikon’s SMZ 645 and 660 stereo microscopes in microphotography
With the help of LM Digital adapter the inverse Nikon Eclipse MA100 and MA200 microscope become fit for photomicrography
Capture exceptional images with the Leica DM4 B/DM6 B and our LM digital adapters
LM photo microscope with Nikon C-mount camera DS-Fi2 and control panel DS-L3 for measurement tasks, long-term studies and lengthy observations
Install modern camera systems (DSLR, system- or c-mount cameras) with our LM digital adapter on the Olympus SZX9 – a stereo microscope for industrial applications
Capture One Pro software: Tethering in microscopy with Live View for a large variety of cameras
Preview: The Nikon D850 – the new number 1 in our camera ranking!
Sony Alpha 9 – a camera that has everything you need!
Sony Alpha 7S II – a video specialist with ultra-high light sensitivity
Panasonic Lumix DC-GH5 – an interesting solution for long-term video recording at the microscope
Professional camera with full-frame sensor Leica M10 on the microscope
The new Canon DSLR EOS 1300D – a “microscope camera” with an unbeatable price/performance ratio

Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Facebook Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Twitter     252

Using modern digital cameras on conventional stereo microscopes and macroscopes

In recent years, camera manufacturers have been making giant strides with their products. Cameras with 20 megapixels and more are nothing special these days and fall into price ranges that almost anyone can afford. Less than ten years ago, even top-of-the-line microscopes weren’t operated with nearly as powerful cameras as many people are now using for family snapshots.

Canon camera with LM adapter on a conventional  stereo microscope

The development of microscopes has not even come close to paralleling that of digital photography. Conventional stereo microscopes with parallel optical path design, the most commonly used type of microscope, have been left far behind by modern DSLR cameras and system cameras (mirrorless cameras with interchangeable lens mounts). The camera systems used can resolve details to a degree that is too fine to be displayed by the microscope. This means that a camera with high resolution (a high number of pixels) does not benefit microscopy: the images are merely “inflated empty”, in a manner of speaking. As a rule of thumb, cameras with five megapixels are completely adequate for photography with such microscopes.

Conventional stereo microscopes with parallel optical path design can, however, take advantage of the extra features that come with high-quality cameras. Greater colour depth, better signal-to-noise ratios, HD video functions, the possibility of displaying a Live View image, HDMI interfaces for HD monitors and special software for remote control from a PC make microphotography easier in many respects.

Conventional stereomicroscopes were originally designed primarily for visual stereographic viewing through the eyepiece. This microscope design has been in continued use, without any changes, for this group of microscopes for nearly 30 years. The total magnification and resolution capability of such instruments are adapted to the human eye rather than to a camera sensor chip.

For applications involving specimen activities, a long working distance is required. However, this working distance affects the optical instrument’s resolution capability. Large working distances are very practical when working with a microscope and the depth of field of the image increases as well, which is especially advantageous for three-dimensional objects. On the other hand, due to physical reasons, a large working distance reduces the resolution capability of the lens. The numerical aperture describes the light-gathering ability of microscopes and macro lenses (close-up lenses). In the case of a normal lens without immersion (air space between the object and the lens), an aperture of one is theoretically optimal.

NA = n * sin(Alpha)

Explanation numerical aperture  MICRO TECH LAB

However, this theoretical maximum cannot be achieved in practice. The working distance would have to be infinitely small and the front lens infinitely large. The total magnification should generally not exceed 500 to 1,000 times the numerical aperture; anything above this is just “empty magnifying”. This physical limit is reached very soon with achromatic lenses, and a bit later with apochromatic lenses.

For professional photo documentation, conventional stereomicroscopes are therefore not the first choice, since, as noted above, they were designed for visual work through the eyepiece and such microscopes are not capable of taking full advantage of modern cameras with a resolution greater than 10 megapixels.

All major microscope manufacturers offer specific solutions for micro photography and – above all – macro photography. These instruments, however, tend to fall into the higher price bracket (starting from € 10,000).

We developed our LM macroscopes specifically for professional photo documentation. They are far more powerful than traditional stereomicroscopes.

LM Makroscope

The preferred solution for many applications is therefore an LM macroscope with a DSLR camera featuring “Live View” and HD video. The slide can then be evaluated on a high-resolution monitor in “Full HD” instead of through the eyepiece.

This, in turn, increases flexibility and thus productivity. If details need to be displayed on the monitor, you can zoom into the image using the camera's zoom feature. The zoom feature makes more and more details visible without sacrificing resolution. This is possible because the video resolution (Full HD) only amounts to a fraction of the maximum sensor chip (> 20 megapixels).

Conclusion:

Conventional stereo microscopes with parallel optical path design cannot take advantage of all the strengths of modern DSLR cameras. The optical quality of the microscope lens and of the parallel optical path system with a long working distance challenges the user's photographic skills. If you want to make the most of digital camera performance, it is advisable to use other systems  the LM macroscope, for instance. These systems make it possible to produce sophisticated photographic documentation in no time at all!

23.02.2012


New LM Digital Adapter for:

Nikon D850 / Sony Alpha 9 / Nikon D5 / Sony Alpha 7S II / Sony Alpha 7R II / Sony Alpha 7S / Canon EOS 5D Mark IV / Nikon D750 / Canon EOS 6D Mark II / Sony Alpha 6300 / Sony Alpha 6500 / Nikon D500 / Canon EOS 1D X / Nikon D810 / Nikon D4s / Nikon D800 / Nikon D800E / Nikon D4 / Nikon Df / Nikon D610 / Nikon D600 / Canon EOS 6D / Canon EOS 5DS R ( without low-pass filter) / Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II / Canon EOS 80D / Canon EOS 5DS / Sony Alpha 77 II / Canon EOS 70D / Nikon D7200 / Canon EOS 200D / Canon EOS 800D / Rebel T7i /

Related Links

 

High-end intermediate optics for connecting microscopes to:
  • digital SLR cameras
  • digital mirrorless system cameras with an interchangeable lens mount
  • c-mount-, USB- and firewire cameras
  • digital compact cameras and camcorders
[Further information amd prices]
 
Which digital camera works best on a microscope?
LM Makroskop 16x Convert your digital SLR camera into a professional microscope
Special mounting media  for microscopy

Tips and tricks to connect your digital camera and to process digital images
wing_drosophila

 

 Demo Pictures

 
© 1999-2016 MICRO TECH LAB. All rights reserved / Legal notice / Privacy policy / Newsletter / Press
 
OK

Micro Tech Lab Professionelle Lösungen für die digitale Mikro- und Makrofotografie
Produkte Tests & Kaufberatung Kontakt Bestellung Seitenübersicht Referenzen

 

LM Adapter für die Mikroskopie im Überblick
Für folgende Mikroskope bieten wir LM Adapterlösungen an
Online Konfigurator: LM Mikroskop Adapter für alle Digitalkameras und Mikroskope
LM Adapter-Lösung für Mikroskop C-Mount Port mit Verkleinerungsoptik ( 0,5x / 0,6x / 0,7x  oder f 55 mm / f 75 mm / f 100 mm)
LM Makroskop 24x (15x und 11x) für Focus Stacking: Maximale Auflösung ohne Kompromisse
LM Makroskop 9x (5x und 3x) für Focus Stacking: Maximale Auflösung ohne Kompromisse
LM Foto-Mikroskop: die flexible Fotolösung für Kameras mit großen Sensoren!
Makro-Vorsatzlinsen: LM Macro 40 und 80 mit planachromatischer Präzisions-Optik
Spezial Einschlussmittel für die Mikroskopie (deutsch/englisch)
Micro Tech Lab Beratungsdienstleistung: Mikroskopie,Digitalkameras,Verbesserung der Bildqualität
Dienstleistung: Verbesserung der Bildqualität durch Überprüfung des Mikroskops
Digital-Kamera Ranking für die Einsatz in der Mikroskopie
Leitfaden zur Kamerawahl für die Mikrofotografie
DSLR Kamera oder Mikroskop-Spezialkamera?
Bildsensor: Dynamikumfang - Einfluss auf die Bildqualität
Mikroskop Empfehlung
Zeiss Stemi 508 Stereomikroskop: Mikroskop Adapter für Digitalkameras (DSLR- und Systemkameras, Camcorder)
Olympus IX2 – Serie: DSLR- und Systemkameras bieten Ihnen Aufnahmen mit maximaler Bildqualität
Adapterlösung für das Stereomikroskop Stemi SV8 von Zeiss
Die Nikon SMZ 645-660 Stereomikroskope in der Mikrofotografie
LM Digital Adapter machen die inversen Nikon Eclipse MA 100 und MA 200 Mikroskope fit für die Mikrofotografie
Hervorragende Bilder mit den Geräten Leica DM 4B/ DM 6B und LM Digital Adapter
LM Fotomikroskop mit der Nikon C-Mountkamera DS-Fi2 und der Kontrolleinheit DS-L3 für Standardmessaufgaben, Langzeitbeobachtungen etc.
Installation von modernen Kamerasystemen (DSLR-, System- und C-Mountkameras) mit den LM digital Adaptern an das Stereomikroskop Olympus SZX9
Capture One Pro Software: Tethering in der Mikroskopie mit Live View Ansicht für eine große Anzahl von Kameras
Preview: Nikon D850 – neue Nummer 1 in unserem Kameraranking!
Sony Alpha 9 – eine Kamera, die alles bietet, was man braucht!
Sony Alpha 7S II – Videospezialist mit extrem hoher Lichtempfindlichkeit
Panasonic Lumix DC-GH5 als interessante Lösung bei Video-Langzeitaufnahmen am Mikroskop
Profi-Vollformatkamera Leica M10 am Mikroskop - neue Profikamera unter die Lupe genommen
Canon DSLR EOS 1300D – Mikroskopkamera mit unschlagbarem Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Telefon +43-664-7926425 ( Mo - Fr 10:00 - 16:00 )            Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Facebook Folge Micro_Tech_Lab auf Twitter     252

Verwendung von modernen digitalen Kameras auf klassischen Stereomikroskopen und Makroskopen

In den letzten Jahren trieben die Kamerahersteller ihre Produkte mit riesen Sprüngen voran. Kameras mit 20 Megapixel und mehr sind nichts Besonderes mehr und zudem in Preisklassen, die für fast jedermann leistbar sind. Vor noch nicht einmal zehn Jahren verwendete man in der Mikroskopie selbst bei Topinstrumenten nicht annähernd so leistungsfähige Kameras wie sie jetzt schon von vielen Hobbyfotografen zum Knipsen der Familienfotos benutzt werden.

Canon Kamera mit LM Adapter an einem Stereomikroskop

Die Entwickung der Mikroskope lief nicht annähernd parallel zu der von der digitalen Fotografie. Klassische Stereomikroskope mit parallelem Strahlengang, die am häufigsten verwendeten Mikroskoptypen, werden von modernen Spiegelreflexkameras und Systemkameras (spiegellose Kameras mit Wechselobjektivfassung) voll ausgereizt. Die verwendeten Kamerasysteme können kleinere Details auflösen, als das Mikroskop zeigen kann. Das bedeutet, dass eine hohe Kameraauflösung (hohe Pixelanzahl) für die Mikroskopie keinen Vorteil bringt, die Bilder werden sozusagen „leer aufgeblasen“. Als Faustregel gilt, dass für die Fotografie mit dieser Art von Mikroskopen Kameras mit fünf Megapixel völlig ausreichen.

Aber dennoch profitieren klassische Stereomikroskope mit parallelem Strahlengang von den Zusatzfeatures hochwertiger Kameras. Höhere Farbtiefen, besseres Signal/Rauschverhältnis, HD Videofunktionen, Live View Bild am Display, HDMI Schnittstellen für HD Monitore und spezielle Software zur Fernsteuerung vom PC, erleichtern das Arbeit ungemein.

Klassische Stereomikroskope wurden ursprünglich primär für die visuelle stereografische Betrachtung durch das Okular konzipiert. Dieses Mikroskopdesign wird mittlerweile seit nahezu 30 Jahren unverändert für diese Gruppe von Mikroskopen angewandt. Die Gesamtvergrößerung und das Auflösevermögen der Instrumente sind auf das menschliche Auge abgestimmt und nicht auf den Sensorchip von Kameras.

Bei Anwendungen von präparierenden Tätigkeiten, ist ein großer Arbeitsabstand notwendig. Dieser Arbeitsabstand beeinflusst jedoch das Auflösungsvermögen des optischen Instruments. Große Arbeitsabstände sind sehr praktisch beim Arbeiten unter dem Mikroskop und zudem erhöht sich die Schärfentiefe der Abbildung, dies bringt besonders bei plastischen Objekten Vorteile. Im Gegenzug reduziert er aber auch aus physikalischen Gründen das Auflösungsvermögen des Objektivs. Die numerischen Apertur beschreibt die Leistungsfähigkeit von Mikroskopen und Makroobjektiven. Bei normalen Objektiven ohne Immersion (Luft zwischen Objekt und Objektiv) besteht das theoretische Optimum bei einer Apertur von eins.

NA = n * sin(Alpha)

Erklärung numerische Apertur von MICRO TECH LAB

Dieses theoretische Maximum kann in der Praxis nicht erreicht werden. Der Arbeitsabstand müsste unendlich klein sein und die Objektivfrontlinse unendlich groß. Die Gesamtvergrößerung sollte in der Regel nicht mehr als das 500- bis 1000-fache der numerischen Apertur betragen, darüber wird nur mehr „leer vergrößert“. Diese physikalische Grenze erreicht man bei achromatischen Objektiven sehr schnell, bei apochromatischen Objektiven etwas später.

Für professionelle Fotodokumentationen sind daher klassische Stereomikroskope nicht die erste Wahl, da sie, wie oben beschrieben, für das visuelle Arbeiten durch das Okular konzipiert worden sind und außerdem moderne Kameras mit mehr als 10 Megapixel Auflösung die Möglichkeiten des Mikroskops nicht ausschöpfen können.

Alle großen Mikroskophersteller bieten spezielle Lösungen für die Mikro- und vor allem Makrofotografie an. Diese Instrumente sind jedoch alle im Hochpreisniveau angesiedelt (ab 10.000 €).

Unsere LMscope Makroskope haben wir speziell für die professionelle Fotodokumentation entwickelt. Sie sind viel leistungsfähiger als herkömmliche Stereomikroskope.

LM Makroskop

Die bessere Lösung für viele Anwendungen ist daher das LM Makroskop mit einer digitalen Spiegelreflexkamera, die über ein "Live View" und eine HD Videofunktion verfügt. Die Beurteilung des  Präparats erfolgt dann über einen hochauflösenden Monitor in "Full HD" anstatt über das Okular.

Das erhöht die Flexibilität und in weiterer Folge die Produktivität. Sollen Details am Monitor sichtbar gemacht werden, so zoomt man mit der Kamera-Lupenfunktion in das Bild hinein. Bei der Zoom Funktion werden immer weitere Details sichtbar, ohne dass an Auflösung eingebüßt wird. Das ist möglich, da die Videoauflösung (Full HD) nur ein Bruchteil des maximalen Sensorchip (> 20MP) darstellt.

Fazit:

Mit klassischen Stereomikroskopen mit parallelem Strahlengang können nicht alle Stärken der modernen digitalen Kameras ausgenutzt werden. Die optische Güte der Mikroskop–Objektive und der parallele Strahlengang mit dem langen Arbeitsabstand fordert  das fotografische Können des Anwenders. Will man die volle Leistungsfähigkeit der digitalen Kameras ausschöpfen, so ist es ratsam, andere Systeme zu verwenden, wie zum Beispiel unser eigens dafür entwickeltes LM Makroskop. Damit gelingen anspruchsvolle Fotodokumentationen im Handumdrehen!

17.02.2012


Neue LM Digital-Adapter für:

Nikon D850 / Sony Alpha 9 / Nikon D5 / Sony Alpha 7S II / Sony Alpha 7R II / Sony Alpha 7S / Canon EOS 5D Mark IV / Nikon D750 / Canon EOS 6D Mark II / Sony Alpha 6300 / Sony Alpha 6500 / Nikon D500 / Canon EOS 1D X / Nikon D810 / Nikon D4s / Nikon D800 / Nikon D800E / Nikon D4 / Nikon Df / Nikon D610 / Nikon D600 / Canon EOS 6D / Canon EOS 5DS R ( without low-pass filter) / Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II / Canon EOS 80D / Canon EOS 5DS / Sony Alpha 77 II / Canon EOS 70D / Nikon D7200 / Canon EOS 200D / Canon EOS 800D / Rebel T7i /

Verwandte Themen

High-End-Zwischenoptik zur Verbindung von Mikroskopen mit:
  • digitalen Spiegelreflexkameras
  • digitalen spiegellosen Systemkameras mit Wechselobjektivfassung
  • C-Mount- USB- und Firewire Kameras
  • digitalen Kompaktkameras und Camcordern
        [weitere Informationen und Preise]
Welche digitale Kamera funktioniert am besten am Mikroskop?
LM Makroskop 16x

Verwandeln Sie Ihre digitale Spiegelreflexkamera in ein Mikroskop

 

[weitere Informationen und Preise]

Spezial Einschlussmittel für die Mikroskopie

[weitere Informationen und Preise]
Tipps und Tricks in der Mikro- und Makrofotografie
wing_drosophila  Demo-Fotos

Preise exkl. MwSt. und Versandkosten. Irrtümer, Änderungen und Druckfehler vorbehalten

Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Sony,Fujifilm, Konica, Minolta, Pentax, Wild, Leica, Leitz, Intel... sind eingetragene Warennamen und Eigentum der jeweiligen Inhaber

© 1999-2016 MICRO TECH LAB   / Impressum  / Datenschutz / Newsletter / Presse

OK